InI ft. Pete Rock - Fakin' Jax [HD]

  • From unreleased 1995 album: "Center of Attention"...[Artist info below].....
    INI's tracks appear on Pete Rock's "Lost & Found Hip Hop Underground Soul Classics":
    Tracks from shelved "Center of Attention" album:
    01. Intro
    02. No More Words
    03. Step Up
    04. Think Twice
    05. Square One
    06. The Life I Live
    07. Kross Roads
    08. To Each His Own (Feat. Q-Tip & Large Professor)
    09. Fakin' Jax
    10. What You Say
    11. Props
    12. Center of Attention
    13. Grown Man Sport
    14. Mind Over Matter
    15. Don't You Love It
    16. Microphonist Wanderlust
    INI was a hip hop group composed of Rob-O, Grap Luva, I Love H.I.M., Marco Polo (not to be confused with the hip-hop producer of the same name), and DJ Boodakhan.
    The group started working on their debut album together with producer Pete Rock in the mid-90s, and signed a deal with Rock's newfound imprint Soul Brother Records through Elektra. The record company eventually shelved the album, releasing only one 12" single in 1996.Allmusic single The track "Fakin' Jax", produced and featuring Pete Rock, became a minor underground hit. The album eventually became one of the most bootlegged unreleased albums in hip-hop's history, but in 2003 it saw an official release it was included on Lost & Found: Hip Hop Underground Soul Classics, a double LP of Pete Rock's mid-1990s production work, originally canceled by Elektra Records.
    Despite the fact that Pete Rock is not an official member of the group, it is synonymous with his name, as he produced almost every track of Center of Attention, and Grap Luva is his younger brother. Rock also had verses on two of the songs albums with additional ad-libs and background vocals on basically every track.
    After Center of Attention got shelved the group members went their separate ways, while only two of them stayed on the music scene to pursue solo careers. Grap Luva released a few limited 12" singles in the new millennium, as well as appearing and producing on various albums and singles from artists such as DJ Spinna, J-Live, Pete Rock, Lone Catalysts and Marley Marl. Rob-O released many singles through an imprint called St. Nick Entertainment and in 2006 he came out with a debut album called "Rhyme Pro", a mix of the older 12" singles with a few new songs sprinkled throughout.
    Updated & Extended Info:

    Category : hip hop old school